Stop Reflecting, Start Shining!

Laying in my  hammock has become a treasured time for me.  I go out early in the morning and lay there as the sun comes up.  I worship, talk to God, meditate on scripture, listen to the birds and watch the squirrels.  I have had some true quality time with God there in my hammock.

Yesterday morning there was a break in the clouds as the sun rose.   I lay there with the sun coming up behind me looking across the yard.  My property line is lined with some tall pine trees.  As the sun came up the tall trunks seemed to glow with an orange glow. Every branch in the tree lit up with an orange glow. It was very beautiful.  I immediately thought of the verse that declares, “… may the Lord make His face to shine upon you.”  Those trees reflecting the beautiful glory of the rising sun.

I was reminded of an illustration that preachers, and I, have used before.  How the moon does not produce light on its own but simply reflects the light of the sun.   We make the point that we too should reflect the light of The Son. Our Father, God.

NO!  It seemed like a loud scream inside of me.  No!  This is not  true!  I recalled all the sermons I had been preaching lately from John chapters 14-16.  All those verses where Christ declares that the Spirit will be in us.  How Christ Himself will actually be in us! (see especially 14:16,17,20,23).

You see, we do not reflect light from an outside source.  We are to shine with a light from an inside source.  We have the Spirit of Light living in us!  We are to shine not reflect.

Jesus said in Matthew 5, “You  are the light of the world …Let you light so shine before men that they may see your good works and glorify your Father in heaven.”

We don’t reflect light …. We are light!  Let it shine! He tells us that he didn’t light us to hide us.  He wants to put us on the lamp stand so that we can give light to the world!  Too often I find myself trying to reflect light instead of allowing the light to shine! I have to stop hiding it under a basket and let it shine!

Shine today. Wherever you are, shine!  I don’t have to be the trees, I can shine the light of the sun! That’s amazing!

I don’t know.  I’m just a guy … who likes his hammock … and is trying to shine. That’s just the way I see it.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Stop Reflecting, Start Shining!

  1. Cristal says:

    This was confirmation for me today (after 3 days of Oswald Chambers nailing in “Christ in me.” ) Here’s part of today’s Utmost for His Highest:

    The characteristic of a disciple is not that he does good things, but that he is good in his motives, having been made good by the supernatural grace of God. The only thing that exceeds right-doing is right-being. Jesus Christ came to place within anyone who would let Him a new heredity that would have a righteousness exceeding that of the scribes and Pharisees. Jesus is saying, “If you are My disciple, you must be right not only in your actions, but also in your motives, your aspirations, and in the deep recesses of the thoughts of your mind.” Your motives must be so pure that God Almighty can see nothing to rebuke. Who can stand in the eternal light of God and have nothing for Him to rebuke? Only the Son of God, and Jesus Christ claims that through His redemption He can place within anyone His own nature and make that person as pure and as simple as a child. The purity that God demands is impossible unless I can be remade within, and that is exactly what Jesus has undertaken to do through His redemption.

    As he also explained, “Sanctification is not something Jesus Christ puts into me. It is Himself in me.” (1 Cor 1:30)

  2. Pingback: Sharing Sunday: faux hawks & flat bills united in service | Refusing to Tiptoe

  3. Pingback: Sharing Sunday: the sounds of backs being bitten (not exactly music to the ears) | Refusing to Tiptoe

Leave a Reply

